JoinBecome an IAHQ member.


Since 1976, the primary purpose of the Illinois Association for Healthcare Quality (IAHQ) has been to provide healthcare professionals with a forum for education, networking and opportunities for professional growth. IAHQ is a not-for-profit association.

Bylaws, rules and procedures

As a public association, our activities are communicated to our members through By-Laws. In this section we provide access to members and encourage feedback and suggestions.

View 2017 IAHQ Bylaws

Our Mission

To promote quality healthcare through education and professional collaboration.

Our Vision

Be a leader in providing education, networking, and resources to promote the development of professionals in all aspects of healthcare quality.

President’s Message

Welcome to Illinois’ leading association of healthcare quality professionals.

There has never been a more important nor transformative time in health care. Quality is front and center as healthcare organizations and professionals strive to achieve the triple and quadruple aims. Clinicians look to maintain reimbursement and improve care under CMS’s Quality Payment Program – all the while trying to improve processes that not only enhance their operating practices but quality of care, safety, and ultimately, patient outcomes.

The Illinois Association for Healthcare Quality is the organization for professionals dedicated to improving patient care and outcomes in our state.

As the new IAHQ President, my vision for the association is to be the primary community where health care quality professionals go to learn leading practices and share experiences from around the state, region and even nationally so that we can apply those lessons locally for improved operations and health outcome.

Please join me, the IAHQ Board, and your peers around the state to make IAHQ a robust and supportive community from which we all can benefit and be proud.

Feel free to reach out to me anytime with your thoughts and suggestions.


Mary K. Lewis, RN, CPHQ

IAHQ Leadership Board Members

We continue to have a very talented and dedicated team of elected and appointed quality professionals on the IAHQ Board of Directors, who work in all aspects of the healthcare industry. They have firsthand knowledge of healthcare issues and are willing to be a voice for you.


Mary K. Lewis, RN CPHQ
Sr Clinical Data Analyst/Clinical Data Steward/Clinical Analyst
Amita Health


Susan Stefan, DNP, MBA, MSN, CPHQ, RN (Secretary, IAHQ)
Executive Director
Telligen QIN-QIO


Katherine Ast, MSW, LCSW
Director of Quality and Research
American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine (AAHPM)

Anna Astalas, RN, MPA, CPHQ,
Clinical Quality Manager, Government Programs
Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Illinois, Montana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas
(Health Care Services Corporation)

Don Crain, RN, BSN, MA, CPHQ, CPPS
Quality Operations Manager
MercyHealth Hospital-Rockton Avenue

Stephen L. Davidow, MBA-HCM, CPHQ, APR
(Immediate Past President, Treasurer -Temporary, IAHQ)

Sandi Durrenberger, MBA
Associate Director, Systems of Care

Kevin M. Krout
Quality Management Program Analyst
VA Illiana Health Care System

Tina Logsdon, MS
Quality Improvement Advisor
Vizient, Inc.

Carrie Pinasco, BS, CDM
Director, Quality, Safety, & Health Policy
Midwest Alliance for Patient Safety PSO, an Illinois Health and Hospital Association Company